Just When I think I’m Ready to Have Kids…

by Molly

This weekend was so fun.  SO fun.

PS So was Las Vegas!  I will recap soon.  For now, know I came back in one piece and with a net gain of $5.

On to the weekend update.  Friday was refreshingly low key and incredibly fun.  I started my day with a client meeting that started with shot-gunning a beer.  It was also my Dad’s birthday, so we celebrated with him for dinner.  I left work at 4:30 which was an outstanding feeling.  Until I hit traffic.  I didn’t experience much traffic during busy season, so I was a bit disgruntled.  Dinner was really nice, and I was happy I got to give my Dad a birthday hug on his actual birthday.  This is rare now that we are older, you know?  On Saturday most of the family met for brunch for a formal celebration of our patriarch.  My Dad never really makes a big fuss about himself, so we tried our best to do it for him.  His sister was there, so it was fun explaining to Lucy the connection between brothers, sisters, aunts and uncles.  I got to sit by Lucy and cut up her food for her.  As you can imagine, I was feeling very mature.

Saturday night I made plans to head to Kingwood to meet my friend Charlotte for drinks.  She was in town for the rest of the weekend, so I wanted to squeeze one more visit out of her.  For those of you that don’t know much about Kingwood, know that “the livable forest” doesn’t really have a hopping bar scene.  So we met at Molly’s Pub, the only place that serves alcohol that isn’t a restaurant in the Kingwood area.  As soon as we arrived, I warned Terry that the outside looks much nicer than the inside.

Many of our high school friends also happened to be home for the weekend, so naturally everyone ended up at Molly’s by the end of the night.  The dynamic of random shady people from the surrounding areas of Kingwood and the imported yuppie crowd of KHS graduates always makes for a great time.  Terry was effectively thrown into the mix during a 20 minute bathroom break where Charlotte and I snuck off to gossip one on one.  Reason #23094830948 for marrying Terry is his ability to have more friends than I do by the end of the night.  When I got back to our table, he knew everyone there and had taken a shot with all of them.  Since I knew we would be commuting home eventually, I stayed mostly sober for the whole night.  Terry didn’t, which made the night so much more fun.  Between assessing every boy from high school on a scale of ‘he is not hotter than me now” and promising to purchase a party bus to transport everyone from our upcoming 10 year reunion in August back to Molly’s pub, I never really stopped laughing.  Terry also became very close to the bartender ‘Bull” and promised his continued patronage whenever we were in the Kingwood area.  Meanwhile, Charlotte and I managed to forge a pretty decent conversation despite all that was going on around us.

At the end of the night, we took Charlotte home to her parents’ house.  Once we were actually in Kingwood, we thought a tour would be appropriate since Terry had never really seen my old house or where I grew up.  So at 2:30AM, we headed back to the old neighborhood.  Terry snapped a few pictures (with the flash on) before realizing we might have the police called on us.  After learning about “greenbelts” and the social class system within the planned community, Terry had all but decided we were moving to Kingwood ASAP.  At this point, I decided it was best we get home.  Truthfully, I am not quite ready for the suburban life just yet.  I really love our urban dwelling/slightly scary neighborhood inside the loop.  Anyways, we headed back, stopping of course at Taco Cabana for nourishment for the journey home.  Terry fed me chaloupas while I drove, and his random commentary made laugh so hard I could barely breathe.  I wish I could tell you what most of the comments were, but sadly I don’t remember them exactly, and I feel they may be way too inappropriate for this blog.

Once we got home I ran up the stairs excited to eat the rest of the Taco Cabana (so sad, but so true).  On the last step, I trip, completely lose my balance, and slam into the ground.  This of course is hilarious to both Terry and myself, and we can barely get me up we are laughing too hard.  We proceed to eat a dozen tortillas con queso and effectively pass out on the couch.  I wake up at 5AM to the worst part of Boogie Nights.  I can’t move though, and my feeble attempts to wake Terry to turn it off fail, so I endure watching for thirty minutes before having the strength to move and wake Terry up.   At 5:30AM we are finally in our bed, and I can’t help but think to myself how this night is so not the one people about to have children have.  How far I have fallen from my morning of cutting Lucy’s chicken fingers into bit size pieces.

We wake up at 1:30pm, and manage to have a fairly productive day.  Thankfully my knee cap was indeed not broken, as I assumed it was earlier that morning.  I’m convinced Taco Cabana queso has extreme healing capabilities.  I’ve based this knowledge on years of experience.  Experience I hopefully never share with my unborn child.  Who will never know about this blog until she has a child of his/her own.

