The Year of the Dragon

by Molly

Happy Belated Chinese New Year!

I was swept up in other things on January 23, so I’m getting around to celebrating today. Red envelopes for everyone! Let’s all pretend celebrating late is a feng shui way to bring good luck to your life or whatever.

2012 is going to be the year of the Dragon. Specifically, the Water Dragon. I can’t really say that I believe in these horoscopes, but I do think they are fun. My mom was looking into it on Monday, and she noticed that we were both born in the year of the Pig. Awesome. That explains the low metabolism.

I will say it is fun to both be born in the same Zodiac year. I got to researching, and this is what it means to be a Pig:

Occupying the last position in the Chinese Zodiac, the 12th, the Pig symbolizes such character traits as diligence, compassion, and generosity. Pigs enjoy life and because they are entertaining, others enjoy their company. Pigs are giving souls and reap much enjoyment when they’re helping others, but sometimes they give too much. Honesty is what Pigs give and it’s what they expect to receive in return. Pigs seek peace and will do what is necessary to maintain it. This trait, while admirable, sometimes makes it easy for others to take advantage of Pigs. Pigs are always doing for others, helping anyway they can, but rarely will they ask others for help. This can overwhelm and stress them, but Pigs don’t mind. When it comes to money, Pigs enjoy spending more than saving. They gravitate towards name brand items. Thriftiness happens only occasionally, but Pigs do know how to find great deals.

Ask Terry about that whole “not asking for help” bit. I’m sure he would disagree. However, they are spot on when it comes to gravitating to brand names and my love of all things entertaining. Because my mom and I both share the Pig Zodiac, it made me kind of want to share it with my child also. Three generations of selfless brand loving hostesses? Sign me up!

After further research, I was disappointed to realize there isn’t another Pig year until 2019. Unless I have fertility issues, I really don’t want to wait until 2019 to have children. So the three generation pig dream dies. That’s ok, surely there is something cooler to be born into.

Turns out there isn’t. 2013 is the year of the Snake. EW!!!!!!! Why? Why can’t it be the year of the Unicorn or something sweet like that? Here is what the internet says about the year of the Snake:

Water Snake – Years 1953 and 2013

Influential, motivated, insightful, and highly intellectual are words that best characterize Water Snakes. These Snakes work well with others and enjoy being recognized and rewarded. They’ll reveal feelings to those closest to them, but no one else. The Snake is compatible with a Rooster and an Ox and incompatible with a Pig and a Monkey.

Incompatible with the Pig??? Guess I’m not going to be privy to my childs deepest darkest secrets. Wasn’t planning on that anyways. Terry is the year of the Dog, so maybe he can squeeze it out of them.

I hope this doesn’t foreshadow a nasty pregnancy! I need a fortune cookie stat.

