A New Routine

by Molly

Since I’ve started my new job, I’ve become increasingly more relaxed in my morning routine.  Most people don’t show up at my office until 9:30-noon, so there really isn’t a point in getting there early, right?  Right.

In the olden days, I used to have to be at work by 8:30.  They were not pleased when I was late, so I would typically wake up at 5:30 to hit the gym, and then scramble around like a crazy person to be out the door by 8:10.   About twice a week, I would fail and make it in by 9am.  I can’t predict when my dog is going to throw up, y’all.   Needless to say, I was always frazzled and would chance death by speeding to work every morning.

When I started this job, I pretty much kept to the same routine.  I have a little farther to drive now, but I was still making it in by 8:30 or 9.

Then one morning, I woke up and let Louis out (Terry’s normal job, but he is handy-capable right now), and decided I wasn’t ready to get ready.  So I climbed back into bed and watched 30 minutes of Good Morning America.   And I was so happy.  I never meant for it to happen that way, but once it did there was no turning back.  Pretty much how most epic things happen in my life.

Now I find myself morning after morning waking up, taking Louis out, coming back upstairs to pee (trust me it is worth it to let him go first), and then jumping right back into bed to watch GMA until Lara Spencer tells me all of the pop news.  Then I proceed to get ready, make lunch, sometimes prep for dinner, feed the menagerie, and then head to work.  I make it in by 9:30 or 10, and I’m still one of the first people there.  Pretty great, right?

Instead of the frantic mess I used to be, I am educated on current events and totally relaxed.  If only I could keep this up forever.  I realize I have it pretty good, so I won’t abuse the system and stay to watch Live with Kelly.  That is probably pushing the envelope a little too far.   OK maybe I will when I’m pregnant.  Somehow I feel like I can get away with more then.  Well, not the whole Louis peeing first bit.

