Brantastic

by Molly

I’m not going to divulge too much about my cooking skills because that really isn’t the point of this blog.  I would like the record to reflect that I can cook, I do so frequently (mainly because it is cheaper and doesn’t hurt my stomach), and I enjoy it.

I obviously don’t know much about children or what they eat.  I do know from watching Maggie and the kids that it isn’t always that easy to nourish your child.  One can assume that easy/healthy recipes are the most in demand as a mother, but I think that goes for everyone, right?   Who doesn’t love something quick and easy that tastes good and is good for you?  I’m all about getting as many of those recipes as possible.  When Terry and I retire, then I can focus on the fancy stuff.

Enter muffin recipe that I just received via my mom via Cooking Light.  This recipe is so easy and is perfect for when you are looking to use up some old bananas.   I don’t really have the attention span to photograph professional grade pictures of my cooking steps, so just use your imagination.

I changed a few things based on what I did and didn’t have, and they ended up tasting really good.  See below:

1 cup whole wheat flour 1/2 cup white flour  (I used all white flour because I didn’t realize I was out of wheat until last night)

1 cup oats

3/4 cup brown sugar

1 T wheat bran (I used oat bran.  Pam says there is a difference)

2 teas baking soda

1/4 teas salt (I used fancy sea salt, just to say I did)

1 cup plain fat-free yogurt (I used 1/2 cup Fage Total 0% and 1/2 cup light sour cream)

1 cup mashed banana (I just used two really ripe bananas that I had refrigerated for a week.  I was skeptical, but all turned out well)

1 cup chopped dates (I used these unsweetened natural cranberries from Whole Foods that Anna had left at my house)

3/4 cup chopped walnuts (I used 1/4 cup sliced almonds)

1/2 cup dried chopped pineapple (I used 2 T of coconut and then shredded up a carrot)

3 T. flax seeds (I used ground)

 

Mix everything together in one bowl.  Be careful not to overstir.  I’m not sure why, that is just what my mom told me in ALL CAPS.

Bake @ 375 for 18 -22 minutes.  DON’T OVERBAKE…TEST THEM AT 18 MIN, then decide if you need to bake them more (more verbatim directions from my mom).  I made 24 muffins instead of 18, so I only needed to bake for 15 minutes.  Since they were smaller, I calculated them to be 100 calories a pop.  Perfect.  I like eating more things for the same amount of calories.  I’m already looking forward to having them again for breakfast tomorrow.  They go well with my 8 oz cup of coffee.

Enjoy!

 

