My Apologies

by Molly

Hello loyal readers!  I’m so sorry to have just fallen off the face of the earth last week.  I was up to my knees in baby shower preparation for a shower a group of us hosted for our friend Lauren this weekend.  It was a total success, and it was probably the most fun I have ever had hosting a shower.   This might have had something to do with the 6 cups of coffee I drank whilst hosting.  Or maybe because we have all known each other (most of us at least) since before we wore bras and could drive.

Word got out early into the shower about my blog, so references were made to the baby bucket list throughout the morning.  I compiled so much information that I felt like I was in an early episode of Sex and the City where everyone gets interviewed about their opinon on sex/motherhood/men/dating/etc.  Watch season one STAT if you don’t know what I’m talking about, as you are surely missing out on some pop culture here.

When the shower was over we gathered around the mommy-to-be, and I (in particular) had several questions for her.  We asked her about her clothing, how she was feeling, told her that the pictures of her on her blog didn’t do her growing bump justice, and reassured her that she looks amazing etc.  Then when we asked about her pants, she proceeded to lift up her shirt and ever so slightly gave us a glimpse of her belly.

I nearly passed out.

Seeing it covered is one thing.  Seeing the skin.  Like that.  Totally another.  Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t like gross or anything.  Just really really tight.  Like it didn’t have any more room to stretch.  I tried to explain to my mom what I meant and she says “Oh, well that happens”.

Followed by “like a drum”.

I’m still not sure I have recovered.  I constantly am finding myself investigating my own stomach to make sure it looks the same.

These women deserve a Congressional Medal of Awesome for what they are doing.  And Mother’s Week, not Day.

I’m so not ready.

You can't even tell who is pregnant! Lauren, you make it look too easy!

