Night Owl

by Molly

You know what I already miss, even though I don’t have a child yet?

Staying up late.

I used to be the queen of late nights. I frequently went to sleep at 1 or 2AM during the week, only to frantically wake up at 7:55 and scramble to get to work by 8:30AM (read 8:45 on most days).

Even though it was such a crazy and immature lifestyle, I really loved it. Now that Terry is out of law school, he wakes up early to get to work before 8. On top of that, we’ve developed this annoying gym habit at 6AM most days. That means I have to go to bed by 10:30 just to keep up with it all.

I feel so old! I surmise this is nature’s way of baby stepping (pun intended) me to motherhood. I’m making a conscious adult decision daily to not have fun staying up watching trashy TV for no other reason than I can. Someone give me a gold star quick.

Part of me wants to go to back to the old days as an act of rebellion. The other part of me argues that I need to keep the gym habit at all costs so that I can achieve item #1468847 on the bucket list: to have a rockin body… complete with Michelle Obama arms and Jennifer Anniston everything else.

20111102-230157.jpg

